More and more

We sang a true song at church yesterday. Most philosophers won’t accept this phrasing that “it just felt true” as legitimate reason to believe something. The particular one I’m reading right now definitely wouldn’t.

All we want and all we need
is found in Jesus.
All we ask is more of You.

I go to a church where we sing repetitive worship songs. We sing the verses and choruses over and over again. And if you don’t really want to worship, that can get old pretty quickly. Or if you’re bitter about repeats. I’ve had days like that. I think I need repeats though. Because the first time through I don’t always realize that the truth in the song is truth for my life.

Nothing else can satisfy our hearts’ desire.
All we want is more of You.

That didn’t feel like all I wanted yesterday. I wanted more time to do my homework because I’d chosen to make a music video with my housemates in costume instead of work on my paper the day before. I wanted more time in general.

All we want and all we need
is found in Jesus.
All we ask is more of You.

I want a secure future. I want to not feel anxious about my future (and about everything else). But a life of worship isn’t about what I want. Really, all I want isn’t found in Jesus.

Nothing else can satisfy our hearts’ desire.
All we want is more of You.

Or is it? I haven’t figured out human desires on a philosophical level yet. Do we actually want things that are bad for us or bad in general at the core of our being? My experience says, sometimes. And that really means the answer is yes. The Bible says, sometimes, always, or more often than we breathe, depending on how you read it.

For the Lord is good
And His love endures.
Yes, the Lord is good forever.

I haven’t figured out how to consistently line my wants up with Good. Or maybe the answer is the same as it is for everything else.

And I’ll shout it out
from the mountaintops.
Yes, the Lord is good forever.

“Seek ye first the kingdom of God…” That’s been a recurring theme in learning to set my life straight in the past couple years. If the sometimes that I find that it’s true that I want God more than anything else are to be explained, that passage might say why.

We want you more and more.

It matters, what we look to. In a culture of fillers–filler words, time fillers, fillers in food, end tables just to fill the space–we can fill easily with the extras. Those things that are supposed to be side dishes become our main entrée. We want the peripheral when the Kingdom of God could be manifested in us.

We want you more and more.

I know I’m like this. I want the easily digestible. I don’t want Jesus to come challenge my way of life or my thinking or the way I treat people.

We want you more and more.

But I do. The more I sing that refrain or live it, the more I want God. So maybe it is the number of times I sing it, sing it and mean it. Or know what I’m singing. Maybe I will continue to want God more and more the more I live revolving around this.

More and more.

Leave a Reply

