100 days

I graduate from college in 100 days. I’ve tried to imagine what that will be like. I know there will be a lot of waiting while people make speeches and other people get their diplomas. There will be a lot of hand shaking. There will be one glorious moment where they (hopefully remember to) call my name and my parents and sister and brother-in-law and scads of friends (or maybe just a few) cheer that I am still capable of walking after completing my degree program.

I’m not sure if I’m the type to fist pump after getting my diploma. No, probably not, though in some of these daydreams I do. No, I’ll probably just beam.

The cynical self inside me says it’s not that big of a deal. But then the other half of me reminds myself that it’s not about the actual accomplishment; it’s marking a significant point in your life. Graduating is about moving on. From here, we’ll go out and do something with what we’ve learned. It’s not an end but a beginning, a launchpad.

People tell me to not count down the days, but I have to. I’m not sure that was what the psalmist said when he said, “Teach me to number my days so I may gain a heart of wisdom,” but maybe it’s similar. Don’t we all need to have perspective about how much time we’ve got left?

Perspective helps us remember what’s important. It pushes me away from mindless solitude and into meaningful connection and also keeps me from overdoing it on things that don’t matter. What can you do in 100 days? Plenty. I was about to make a list, in fact, but I think that kind of defies the idea of walking with mindfulness in each moment.

Maybe there’s a difference there – being mindful in the moment rather than trying to fulfill a goal. There’s something to be said for goals, but maybe that’s not where I am right now. Maybe I’m about being here while I’m here.

Maybe that should be obvious.

Leave a Reply

