Landscapey?

I started a post a couple days ago about how to be an empath without collapsing/crying all the time/shutting down, but I’m not totally sure how to answer that question yet. I just know that I am empathetic and have both shut down and started back up again. The words are still gestating, so that baby will be born later.

Today, Liesel and I wanted to go to a coffee shop that I told her has “plenty of seating.” Every single table was full when we got there, so we started walking.

It’s hard to go more than a block in Chicago without encountering a coffee shop, usually an independent one. But if you can’t find that, you can usually find a Starbucks.

It took us a while to find one. Perhaps we just were on the wrong street, but we just happened across one. Of course, this is their last day to be open… like ever, so it’s too bad that we’re kind of in love with it. Liesel especially likes it because they’re playing 80s music. She loves 80s music and hockey, two things that continue to surprise me.

I spent the first hour and a half here revamping a memoir essay about my time in France and learning about being a guest. And now I’m trying to come up with concrete words to describe my writing and my influences. For some reason, “cinnamon” keeps coming to mind. Also, words like “landscapey.”

You can do that kind of thing in a creative writing class. Seriously. No one will bat an eye.

So I’m going to spend some time looking through my posts and see what my writing reminds me of. If you happen to think of any concrete words that you think describe my writing and would like to share them with me – there’s this handy dandy comment feature that would help you to do that.

On to some reading on my own blog. Gosh, the narcissism.

Leave a Reply

