Jesus and the Trilogy.

I was going to take a picture to let you know what my train looks like right now, but every picture I framed wasn’t interesting enough to be the feature image. It certainly wouldn’t make you want to click on my post and read it. So we’ll skip the picture.
Shortly after I claimed my window seat in St. Louis, the sun streaked out of the sky, leaving pink and yellow clothes behind. For a while, it was the epitome of what I love distance trains. It was sparsely occupied, the lighting was peaceful, and I had the whole journey before me.
People always mess things up. Of course, the point of a train is that you travel with lots of other people. That’s why it costs so much less than taking a cab. For me, the train is a sacred place, much like a library or a church. You wouldn’t talk above a quiet tone in the stacks or the middle of a service, so why would you allow your children to run down the aisles and explain your life in a tone far louder than necessary to the person next to you?
Shhhh, it’s holy here.
But holiness doesn’t mean quiet. And it doesn’t mean taking people out of the picture. Jesus lead a holy life, right? And he spent most of his time right in the thick of people, righting wrongs – none of which was telling to to be quiet unless they were being oppressive with their words.
He wasn’t a pious shusher. He didn’t get stuff about his space. He put a towel on his lap and reached for his disciples’ feet.
I went to the cafe car because I knew I wouldn’t make it all the way home without sustenance. The lady manning the counter there called everyone one of three endearments: darling, hon, sweetie. But she asked my name when she told me it would be about five minutes and told me to have a seat. I sat down and pulled out my book while I waited for my pizza to get out of the oven.
“Are you a reader, Ashley?”
A connection point. I never sacrifice a moment to talk about books with people who seem interesting. And you’re likely interesting if you travel up and down the Amtrak for your job.
Eager eyes, smile, “yes, I am.”
“Have you read the Trilogy?”
Trilogy, trilogy , which trilogy? I haven’t read a trilogy called The Trilogy, but I have read a trilogy.
“No, I don’t think so.”
“Shades of Grey?”
Oh, no, most definitely not, and it goes against everything I believe in about women and sexuality and God and the value of people and I sure as heck will not ever read it, and you wouldn’t catch me dead watching it.
Oh, no, I haven’t read that.”
“It’s real good. I’ve read them all, and I’m excited to compare it to the movie.”
Someone came to the counter wanting a beer, so she held up a finger to me, and I started on my pizza. A bad decision, really. I burned my mouth, but oh well. What’s done is done.
She got the man his beer, and she came back.
“Yeah, but the Trilogy is real good. Erotic, you know. You seem like a good girl, Ashley, so you probably haven’t read them.”
She went on, talked about how educational they could be for me, and the specifics of why she likes it aren’t really that unique or important. I swallowed my opinions and tried to make general comments that showed that I value reading and don’t judge her for what she reads.
Currently, she’s reading a Steve Harvey book; she tries to mix it up.
Then a girl scout troop came in with their leaders, ironically enough, wanting to hear about her job on the train, so she out up one finger to me and started telling them about her work.
I finished my pizza, and she was still educating them on the cafe car, so I quietly left the car.
I wasn’t thinking about what Jesus would have said to her about her book choices. I’m not sure what he would have done. Probably something of the “Go and pick better choices of literature” variety.
As long as there are people in the world, I’ll always have something to think about. As long as I interact with the world around me, the more I have reason to keep learning.
It’s not the idealistic train ride, but it’s much more interesting.

2 thoughts on “Jesus and the Trilogy.

  1. I have never read the book, but I personally don’t think there is anything wrong with it. A book is a made up place or storyline that you can go into or learn about for fun. I am a practicing Christian and i feel like Jesus would be okay with it as long as your thoughts are staying pure..

    • I see where you’re coming from! Certainly, Christians shouldn’t be stuffy, but the series and the following behind it promotes an idea of sexuality that is perverted and masochistic. There has to be a line somewhere in what we out in our minds because memory is powerful, and what we read will shape what we think.

Leave a Reply

