Firsts.

There are a lot of “firsts” in growing up. First steps, first words, first night with a dry diaper, first day of kindergarten (and yes, there is a lot of time in between the dry diaper and kindergarten), first friend, first enemy, first crush, first sports team, first softball to the face, first experience with cliques, first time wearing makeup, first heartbreak, first leadership experience, first letter from a prospective college, first diploma, first time living away from home…

And then you have your first business trip. I don’t know that everyone takes their first prior to their twenty-first birthday, but some do. Like me.

Does everyone laugh at the absurdity of their position at each of these forays into adulthood? Haha, look at me, driving down the highway in St. Louis on a business trip. Heehee, I’m going to a sales training where the instructor will wear a suit and use lots of acronyms… and even funnier, I’ll actually understand and benefit from what he says.

Does anyone else just slap the steering wheel of their boss’s car, which they are borrowing for the weekend, chuckle, and say, “God, what are we doing?”

Especially when you’ve gotten yourself successfully around the city for the first half of the day, but then your phone dies, and that’s actually when you needed that handy dandy navigation feature, and it’s dead now. No, really, God, what are we doing? And where am I?

My roommate started taking people’s blood pressure this week and got a big bag full of practice needles (*shudder*) and catheters and other fun, medical-y things. She’s taking a big foray into adulthood, too. And in a couple years, we and all our friends will have degrees.

Today, I got up at six for the second day in a row. Sign number one that this is an adult weekend. I parallel parked successfully and rejoiced at my abilities. But then I’d driven around so much looking for a parking spot that I couldn’t remember where the coffee shop was that I was actually going.

Eventually, I found my way to the mocha and mocha almond fudge ice cream (new favorite…. If you’re ever in St. Louis, Coffee Cartel has good stuff) and to some emailing and web content creating.

Another adult-y thing: adults have business cards. This is something I’m going to get. If I’m going on business trips, I’m gonna get the cards. I’m not sure what they’re going to say, but I’m getting business cards.

At the end of a long day, which ended with dinner with my friend and boss at Red Robin, where we both forgot to get the petite burgers and ended up a lot more stuffed than we intended to be, I’m left feeling grateful. I have jobs, and the one I’m traveling for is meaningful and allows me to grow. And God just threw it at me without warning or any qualification.

He’s bringing me into the places He wants me to be, the places that will help me to grow and to serve. I guess we could say I’m becoming – which will probably be a constant in my life. I doubt I’ll ever have become. Here’s to growth!

Oh, and just so you know, I totally brought the stuffed bunny with me.

One thought on “Firsts.

Leave a Reply

