Smooshy season.

It’s that time of the semester where I get all smooshy about my family and home. It is now a perfect place where everyone basically hugs me all the time (I’m hug-deprived, especially family hug deprived) and there is lots of coffee (not coffee deprived, but it’s always better when my dad makes it) and love and conversation and happiness.

Also, I’m dying to get a haircut. My head is starting to resemble a Christmas tree, which is not the goal, believe it or not.

Nostalgia sets in. My family has been cleared of all faults or annoying habits. They are perfect people, whom I miss so much. I’ve got a countdown til I see them again. 17 days, just over two weeks. Then I’ll remember that though they are wonderful, they are imperfect, and it’ll be lovely.

Either way, I get lots of hugs then.

College provides so many opportunities – interning, learning around every corner, new people, new things to be involved in, growth galore, independence, but it doesn’t include much family for me. There’s a few phone calls per week and some “I love you! I miss you!” texts in the mornings, but it’s a poor substitute.

The farther I go and the longer I stay away, the more I’ve realized that home is where my heart is, and my family holds my heart.

Absence does make the heart grow fonder.

Leave a Reply

