Fire-breather.

I can’t lie. Sometime the Bible scares me.

Then the earth quaked and trembled.

The foundations of the mountains shook;

They quaked because of his anger.

Smoke poured from his nostrils;

fierce flames leaped from his mouth.

Glowing coals blazed forth from him.

(Psalm 18: 7-8, NLT)

I’m not sure I’ve ever read anything more potentially terrifying.

Yet today, these words were an immense comfort to me. I’m comforted because that’s my God. That’s the God who goes to battle for me.

Sometimes I see my opponents as small. Darkness in my mind? Well it’s small. Especially compared to God. Sure, it’s bigger than me, but barely. I mean, on a really good day I could give it a black eye. Temptations? Well, I mean I do okay with those. I try not to succumb, and sometimes I do, but I’ve got a decent track record, but they can’t be that big.

Let me just lay something out here that I think we forget sometimes: Evil is not small. Darkness is not gray fog. Pride, Envy, Lust, and those other sins we’ve got on speed dial could swallow you and three hundred of your closest friends in one gulp. We are small fish in a big sea of things that want to tear us away from God and bring us down. They want to rip apart our souls and make us slaves to the darkness.

When you put it that way, aren’t you glad that we’ve got a God who breathes fire? Because in Psalm 18, the fire is for the Psalmist, David. Not to devour the him, because David loves God and knows to whom he belongs. No, the fire is for all the things trying to eat at him.

His love is deep. His love is wide, and it covers us. His love is fierce. His love is strong. It is FURIOUS. His love is sweet. His love is wild, and it’s waking hearts to life.

My God breathes fire. “I called on the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and he saved me from all my enemies.” My God “opened the heavens and came down… mounted on a mighty angelic being, he flew…. He shot his arrows and scattered his enemies…. At the blast of [his] breath, the bottom of the sea could be seen.”

I think I’m sticking with Him. Yep. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

