Birds and study breaks

I have something to confess to you.

I love Angry Birds.

I suppose I have two confessions.

I’m also pretty good at it.

These are things I’m rather ashamed of saying, especially since I’m typically so scornful of these type of time-wasters. I have to be honest, though. I like Angry Birds. I really like it. And it helps me focus.

I can read to get sleepy at night, but Angry Birds gets my heart going faster. I find myself getting really frustrated when there’s just one, tiny green pig left. I obsessively strategize about where I’m going to send my birds. I’m well-acquainted with these kamikaze aviators.

I even catch myself saying things like, “DIE, you stupid little pigs!” out loud. On occasion.

Don’t worry, though, dear readers. I’m not neglecting my studies or my friends. I haven’t yet gotten to the point where I’ll say, “No, I’m sorry, I can go out with you. I have to get to the next level.”

I’ll delete the app before I get that far gone. I promise you.

This is probably because we didn’t have video games when I was a child. I’m making up for lost time.

But only on study breaks.

Speaking of study breaks, it’s another national, religious holiday today in Austria. As usual, no one is exactly sure what the holiday celebrates, but all the shops are closed (the reason I did my grocery shopping yesterday) and classes are cancelled. So, I’m taking today to work on my seminar papers.

Even in the States, every professor has different expectations for papers. But when the professor has a different native language and country and background than you and also runs his class very differently than any other class you’ve ever been in, it makes that even more difficult. Not that he wouldn’t accept any well-written, analytic paper, but I get the feeling that he has pretty specific expectations. So, two papers for this professor are my main concern over the next 14-16 days.

So, on to some serious studies. And Angry Birds on study breaks. No shame.

2 thoughts on “Birds and study breaks

Leave a Reply

