Huh.

Tonight I needed peppers in order to make an imitation burrito bowl for dinner, so I went to Spar with the sole intention of buying a pepper. Well, three peppers was a better deal, so I got three peppers.

I can’t just go to Spar and get what’s on my list, but that’s nothing new. I can’t do that at Cub or Jewel or Andy’s Fruit Ranch, either. Some things never change. (I originally typo-ed “some things need change” Freudian slip?)

Anyways, so then I remember that I sort of needed bread. Need as in, I might want to eat it in the next few days and don’t have much left of the loaf I bought last week, which is actually getting stale come to think of it. I didn’t end up getting bread, but that changed my route to the cash register by adding a detour down the drink aisle. So I passed pear-flavored sparkling water and thought huh.

Huh is just about all I have to say after that. It just tasted like pear-flavored sparkling water. It wasn’t anything exciting, but I still drank the entire half liter.

It was a new experience, and I’m a more intensely Austrian-cultured person because of it.

In other news, the sun shown today, and I thought of so many reasons why I’m happy to be here. Though I still miss everything I listed off yesterday, I’m still convinced that I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. For so many reasons (most of them things that I could not have foreseen), Graz is the perfect place for me and being abroad is perfect for me right now.

I’ll get that list going and get back to you.

Leave a Reply

