Sending sickness packing

Have you ever woken up to find that your throat has swollen to half its diameter and feels like it has bruises all the way down?

Hello. Join the club.

I know sore throats intimately. As a child who was anything but immune to strep throat and a college student who got not one, not two, not three, but FIVE (count em!) colds — and a sinus infection — during the course of her freshman year, I know colds. I know it’s not the worst thing that could happen, but I’m unwilling to let it slow me down.

There are people to see and things to do. I haven’t had a cold since last spring break, and I’m not gonna break my streak. I have room in my schedule for sleep, healthy eating, non-antibacterial natural soaps, down time to knit and enjoy my family, but I do not and will not have room for a cold.

I passionately hate drainage.

So, I’m doing everything I can to get rid of this beast. I woke up only an hour and a half ago, but here’s what I’ve done so far:

– taken my multi-vitamin

– drank apple juice, water, iced coffee, orange juice, and eaten a piece of toast

– taken mucinex

– gargled apple cider vinegar and warm water… twice. This sounds gross, and it is a little gross, but it has proven to be effective in the past. Reader’s Digest says that germs can’t survive in the acidic environment the vinegar creates. mwahahaha (Instructions: ¼ cup warm water, ¼ cup apple cider vinegar in a cup and gargle a little bit every hour)

– swallowed some coconut oil, about a spoonful or whatever you can handle (this was actually nasty. I gagged because the texture is like chapstick, but if you swallow it with some good-tasting liquid, it’ll be much better. Supposedly it gets rid of mucus.)

And in 45 minutes, it’ll be time to gargle again. And we’ll be getting some Emergen-C later.

I’ll report back tomorrow and let you know if it worked. I have full confidence in these techniques.

Because ain’t nobody got time for a cold.

Leave a Reply

