How to get ready for your sister’s wedding.

Did you ever know that people usually write “how-to” articles because at one point they didn’t know how to do whatever it is they’re telling you how to do?

Or maybe they currently don’t know how to do that.

So, maybe this is more of a brainstorm, but you’re welcome to be a part of it. Take a seat.

We’ve got about 13 days and 4 hours til my sister and her wonderful fiancĂ© exchange rings. I think my heart stopped when I saw that on the countdown today. I knew yesterday that it was two weeks away, but looking at the countdown that used to have triple digits just made it more real.

She’s getting married and will no longer live across the hall from me. We won’t brush our teeth together every night. She’ll live in a cute little apartment about 30 minutes away with a far better man than I could have ever picked out for her, and no matter what, from there on out, we’ll be visitors in each others’ homes. Still family, but visitors.

At this point, even pictures of other people’s weddings get me teary, partly from happiness, and – to be honest – partly because it’s change. Change typically makes me cry. I also cry when I’m frustrated, but that’s not applicable here. (I’ll let you know if I change my mind about the applicability of tears of frustration while I’m doing my hair 13 days from now) I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the ceremony without making those ugly I’m-not-going-to-cry faces. I probably won’t. Stay tuned for those pictures.

Funny how the best things in life – like watching your very favorite sister embark on an incredible adventure that you are exhilarated about – can still summon tears and that little twinge of sadness at the end of an era.

This is the point where we focus on the new beginnings. We acknowledge that it’s hard to move on from something so good like sharing toothpaste and talking on the bathroom floor late at night and living life together, but then we look ahead. We look forward to our lives as adults who are intentional about staying connected. We look forward to some day taking our families on trips together and being the best aunts possible to our nieces and nephews.

For now, I look forward to loving my sister’s new last name and learning what to do with a brother-in-law… and figuring out how to not cry during my toast.

2 thoughts on “How to get ready for your sister’s wedding.

  1. Ashley, Moriah and I were just talking about this the other day. I’ve had it on my list for a while to write about this from the perspective of the one getting married. This is so good. It’s so important to give yourself space to grieve the loss of what there was, even if what is coming is beautiful and good. This is great.

    • It’s so true! It’s hard/wonderful, happy/sad. I’m learning that even if I don’t like what I’m feeling, it’s important to give it space and time. Oh, I hope you do write about that soon! I’ll look forward to reading it. :)

Leave a Reply

