Morning singing.

This morning while I talked to God about life and the people I’m praying for today and how much I need Him, I had a flashback.

I don’t know how many times this happened, but I remember it like it was regular. Perhaps because I’m longing to be back with my family so much, it’s more vivid. I must have been at least 3 since my sister was already in school, but no older than 5. Maybe my mom will remember.

I remember creeping down to my parents’ room in the morning, where my mom sat reading her Bible. My dad was already at work, so it was just the two of us. I remember sitting on her bed and singing the songs from Bible Study Fellowship together:

Good morning, God! This is your day. I am your child. Show me your way.

O Lord our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! Oh Lord, we praise your name. Oh Lord, we magnify your name, Prince of Peace, Mighty God. Oh, Lord God Almighty.

God is so good, God is so good, God is so good, He’s so good to me. He answers prayer, He answers prayer, He answers prayer, He’s so good to me. I love Him so, I love Him so, I love Him so, He’s so good to me.

There were more, but memory fails me. I remember looking at the music and lyrics she had with her, but not actually being able to read them. It wasn’t a problem, though, because I knew the tunes at least.

It was the most natural thing to sing with my mom about our Lord in the morning, together, on her bed. It’s one of the most beautiful snapshots of my early childhood that I can remember.

I bet that’s a tradition that doesn’t have to stop.

Leave a Reply

