Facetious.

A few weeks ago, I sat at a soccer game with Liesel and Travis. Travis follows my blog and seems to like what he finds here. So, during the time we were at the game, he sat next to me and pointed to everything within view, “Hey, Ashley… you should blog about that.” “Goal posts?” “Yeah, it’d be great.”

Then somebody said, “facetious,” and Travis jumped on that. “Facetious, you should blog about that!” Of course, Liesel responded by reminding us both that it’s one of the few (or maybe the only) word where all the vowels are present – in order. Oh baby. And if you make it ‘facetiously,’ then the not-always-vowel ‘y’ is in there, too.

From dictionary.com:

fa·ce·tious

[fuh-see-shuhs]  

adjective

1. not meant to be taken seriously or literally: a facetious remark.
2. amusing; humorous.
3. lacking serious intent; concerned with something nonessential, amusing, or frivolous: a facetious person.
Origin: 
1585–95; facete + -ious; see facetiae
Can be confused: facetious, factiousfactitiousfictionalfictitious.
Facetiousness is on the same level with sarcasm, though The Common Parlance says this about the difference:
So, the difference appears to be that facetious is a comment that is cute and not hurtful, while sarcasm is irony intended to taunt. Of course, many mask sarcasm in the guise of facetiousness, so as not to offend (as much).
I wonder where facetious and sarcastic belong in my life. I wonder where I should put them. I’m sure a facetious comment about how cooperative our sink is being to the physical plant guys would be appropriate (but they’re too focused on fixing the sink for me to interrupt them). I’m sure a sarcastic comment to a random passerby about how much I love the fact that they’re wearing leggings as pants would not be a very Jesus-like way to act (even though leggings are NOT pants).

Facetious is like the diplomatic cousin of sarcasm. It’s the sweeter, less bitter version. I think I like facetious.

This post is dedicated to Travis, for all his support and goofy inspiration. 

Leave a Reply

