Barista dreams.

I became a barista today. I know what it takes to make mochas, lattes, cappuccinos, americanos, and – above all – I know how to fill up a cup with regular coffee.

Ask me in a week if I can still do this. The answer will likely be ‘no’.

It’s a dream come true for me to actually know what I’m asking the barista to do when I order my cappuccino. Plus, I didn’t understand what the difference between a cappuccino and a latte were before – I just knew I liked cappuccinos better. College isn’t just for book learning.

Sometimes you also learn how to live on a budget. You learn how to get to class right on time instead of an awkward 15 minutes early. Maybe you don’t master either of those, but you have a general idea of how it would go if you did.  You also learn to smile really brightly at people when you hand them their coffee drink or crepe so they might stick some quarters in your tip jar (you ran out of laundry money, remember?). It works.

Sometimes you learn that when you put four garlic cloves in your pasta sauce, it taste really good. Also, your hands smell like garlic when you’re trying to go to sleep at night, which is less pleasant that it sounds.

You might happen to figure out that you are worse at multi-tasking than you thought. You forget you have water boiling on the stove if you leave and can’t do homework while music plays that has words. You accept your weaknesses and move on.

And you learn that life is more productive if you take a short nap first.

Leave a Reply

