Pile-up.

I used to have an incredibly erroneous idea of what a writers’ life was like.

I assumed that every person who had ever published anything had boatloads of money. I figured that being published meant that you instantly got rich and didn’t have to work for the rest of your life. Now, I wonder how the writers of some of my favorite books are doing. I wonder if they have enough to live on. I wonder if their works will actually take off after they’re dead, like so many of the greats.

I talked to a publisher yesterday who said that he knew someone who published with a big name publisher and only got 80 cents per book.  Thats not much, even if you sell 5,000 books. Think of how many hours went into that book.

So it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to base my whole future on this idea that I’m going to make money as a writer.

But it didn’t make much sense for the Israelites to cross the Jordan River into a land where the people were big and strong and not friendly, either. The Jordan River was at flood stage, so you know it wasn’t this dinky little crick they had to cross. Still, because it was God who had led them there, when the first people (the priests) set their feet in the edge of the water, the river stopped flowing upstream and piled up.

Piled up. A river. Piled up. And the Israelites traipsed across on dry land. That’s just the first of many highly unlikely victories they had. It didn’t make sense for them to be able to cross a wildly rushing river at flood stage and conquer the land beyond it. It really didn’t make sense for them to even try.

That’s probably why God kept saying in the weeks beforehand, “Be strong and courageous” and “Be strong and very courageous, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Why does it matter that God was with them? Because God’s the one who piles up rivers, that’s why!

Today, I’m trusting God to pile up my rivers because he’s given me dry land to walk on before, and He’ll do it again as long as He’s the one who’s leading me into a new land.

Leave a Reply

