Watches and heat brain.

At some point in the past week, my watch stopped. I didn’t realize til today when I slapped in on my wrist and it read 9:45… while I was eating lunch. So, I reset it to 11:23, just to make sure that it wasn’t going to start up again.

And, for some odd reason, I didn’t take it off. No, instead I spent the entire day feeling as though time had stopped because my watch battery died. It’s still 11:23, just in case you’re wondering.

The heat wave that has swept across the Midwest this weekend doesn’t help with my presence of mind either. It hardly matters what time it is, because regardless of the hours and minutes, I am hot and have been sweating for quite some time now (though I wouldn’t know exactly how long since my watch died). Air conditioning is a beautiful thing while you’re in class, and tank tops, water bottles, box fans, and cold showers will have to suffice in its absence.

It’s supposed to be hot on the first day of classes, right? That drives people indoors, makes it a treat to be sitting on a metal chair in a cool room, even if the classes aren’t your cup of iced tea (though mine certainly are this semester).

This is where my brain starts sputtering. I’m sure I have more to say, but the heat and sweat are forcing conciseness.

Leave a Reply

