run, run, run.

Partly because I feel guilty for eating so many carbs last night and partly because it’s a beautiful day outside, I’m going running this morning.

I’m not one of those people who can just wake up and run. Where’s the pomp and circumstance? Where’s the dily-dallying? No, I wake up, drink coffee with Jesus, eat pancakes, charge my iPod (because I absolutely cannot run without it… I mean I could, but I’d get to the end of my street and be unable to muster the motivation to go any further), make a new running playlist (entitled ‘RUN RUN RUN’ because having fresh music is key to having a successful run, particularly if it’s over 150 bpm), change clothes, and sit down to blog before I head out.

I know. It looks like I don’t really want to do this. I’m not sure that ‘want’ embodies it, but there’s some part of me that thinks this is a good idea. It’s enough that I will eventually head out the door. Eventually. I think. As long as I stretch for at least 15 minutes first.

I will run because I think it’s worth it. I may not start a habit of running on a regular basis today, but I’m planting the seed so that someday the habit might stick. I will faithfully run whenever I feel like it (hah, did you catch the contradiction there?) just in case this might turn into something permanent. I mean, maybe permanent just means that I do it more often than once a month. Or maybe it means that someday I take up running as a hobby (Lord, forbid).

I suppose I shouldn’t put this off any longer. The sooner I get this done, the sooner I can shower away all memories of the experience and put on my new, green maxi skirt. There’s some motivation.

Leave a Reply

