Potato love.

Oh boy, folks.  It’s going to be an exciting, domestic day.  I was going to blog about how I think we’ve all been throwing stones a little too readily at Paula Deen, a response that doesn’t seem very Christlike or consistent with a forgiving mentality, but I think I’m a little behind the news with that one.  So there’s the short version of that.  Let’s put our stones down, okay?  Show the woman a little love.

Today, we are going to make something very exciting. In the kitchen. WITH POTATOES.

DSCN1586

You probably know how much I love garlic.  I think I may have mentioned that once or twice or ten times.  Or you might smell if on my breath on a consistent basis.  My love for potatoes is almost in line with that.  Truly, nearly anything made with spuds is high on my list.  Add cheese, add salt, add butter.  MMM.

I’ve had this idea brewing in my mind for a while – could I make my own shredded potatoes?  And the answer I kept giving myself was: DUH, Ashley.  It’s just shredding.  You can totally do it.  

(Can you tell how exciting I am?  The recurring ALL CAPS words are a good indicator.)

With the help of a couple bloggers, Heavenly Homemakers and Simply Creating Home (who didn’t know they were going to be a part of this, but there’s a little free publicity for you in return for the free tips on how to shred your potatoes), I decided to embark on this potato-shredding journey.

Of course, I decided to do it right when I was ready to eat lunch, which wasn’t the smartest planning, but oh well.

The plan is to let the potatoes cool, then shred them with a cheese grater.

Updates to follow.

Leave a Reply

