What I’ll miss.

imageOh, Chicago.  If only you had gotten warmer sooner.  You’d be so much easier to leave.  I’d have had plenty of time to wander along beautiful neighborhood streets on my way to get ice cream while the trees put their new leaves on display.

I have a feeling that I’m going to need to spend more time in the less suburban areas of Minnesota this summer.  Truly, what good is it to be city-savvy if you’re only savvy in one city?

I’ll work on my city driving skills.

I’m going to miss this place and these people.  Now that my parents are a short train ride/short drive/long walk away (but only temporarily), it’s an ideal place to be.  Granted, Brooke and Alex are in Minnesota, and my extended family is still far away, but it’s a step in the right direction.

I’m going to miss the familiar, monotonous voice of the L, especially when it tells you that you’re at Irving Park but the sign outside the window says Addison.  I’m going to miss riding through people’s backyards and behind apartment complexes and dreaming about maybe one day having one of the tinier, cheaper ones.

I’m going to miss having to be extra vigilant for flying discs on sunny, warm days and how all of a sudden the whole community comes together when the weather is beautiful.

I might miss sharing a bathroom with 30 other girls.

Maybe not.

I’ll probably miss all the food options Chicago offers, how varied it is, how you could go to a new place every week.  I’ll miss how inundated we are with Swedishness here.

I’ll miss my view out my window to Foster Ave and the continuous, noisy bustle of city life.

I’ll miss my friends, most of whom I won’t see for at least 4 months.

But I’ll be back.  That’s the beauty of leaving a non-vacation spot.  There’s a plan to come back and a tuition deposit that says I’ll be here in the fall.  It’s bittersweet, like all goodbyes.

 

Leave a Reply

