Pre-finals week.

It never fails that the weeks where I get the most creative juice flowing are the weeks where I have to edit two papers, study for two finals, pack up my life, write pointless reflections on how healthy I feel like I am, and do laundry.

My guitar and my cute little notebook for creative writing (made out of an old Beezus and Ramona book, rebound into a journal) that my sister gave me for my birthday are calling my name.  They’re telling me that these ideas may not stick around until I have time for them.  But there aren’t enough hours in the day.  I suppose there’s always night, but I did promise myself that I wouldn’t get sick during finals this time.  (I’ve got a pretty solid record of getting sick finals/midterms week 3/3 times.)

It’s one of those times where I have to remember that I’m in college for a reason.  I have to remember that these little things that seem like they would be so easy to skip or do carelessly are the things that push me closer to having my degree.  And yes, that degree is worth having.

Yes, it’s worth it to spend the extra time editing that paper.  It’ll make me a better writer.  That’s what I want to do with my life, isn’t it?

Yes, it’s worth it to over-study for my finals.

Yes, it’s worth it to practice diligence.

That great thing about creativity is that it isn’t a one-time guest.  It doesn’t stop by to see if you’re busy, see that you are, and never come back again.  It’ll return, and one of these times, I’ll be ready to receive it as my guest.

Pre-finals week, here I come.

Leave a Reply

