Easy Mac.

This is Easy Mac.

If you aren’t familiar with this phenomenon, let me enumerate its many qualities for you:

  • ready in 3.5 minutes
  • microwavable dinner in a disposable cup
  • cheap
  • (sort of) filling
  • no need for pots, pans, real ingredients, or time
  • All you add is water and a fork
  • fake cheese

(If you can’t tell, I’m not a fan.)

This morning, my pastor said something that got me thinking about the intricacies of macaroni and cheese.  “The will of God is not Easy  Mac.  It requires preparation.”

Preparation.  In a world of instant everything, that’s something we try to get out of, but I don’t think that the best God wants for me is fake cheese and three and a half minutes in the microwave.

I bet it looks a lot more like what my mom makes: butter, cornstarch, milk, real cheese.  At least twenty minutes on the stove, lots of stirring.  It’s worth waiting for, worth watching the preparation process, worth being a part of.

Leave a Reply

