Light-full and dark-full.

I promise I’m going to get back to posting every day.  You probably weren’t that concerned about it, but I feel unbalanced when I don’t write.

Today has lots of important tasks for me.  Simone de Beauvoir has been waiting for me to read what she wrote for quite some time now, along with the guy who wrote my Microbes and Society textbook.  My state taxes have been crying to be filed.  There are sheets to be washed, classes to be registered for, phone calls to be made, and a shift at work to be completed.

So, I started out my day by asking Jesus to be a part of it.  I know He doesn’t technically need an invitation, but it’s always nicer to be invited.  Now we’re both clear that I want Him here and that He wants to be here.

Speaking of being where Jesus is, I was reading in Exodus 20 this morning (I started reading through the Old Testament again a while back and started in Exodus because I was sick of Genesis.  I think it’s okay to say that… I’ll get over being sick of it soon enough.) which is the passage where Moses and Aaron receive the ten words from God.  As a child, I heard this story over and over again in Sunday school.  We talked about all ten commandments and what they meant (sort of glossing over number 7), but we didn’t really talk about how cool it is that God’s presence was there.

God met Moses and Aaron on Mt. Sinai.  Exodus 20 says that His presence was like a dark cloud over the mountain.  The people were afraid of it, so – here’s my favorite part – “the people remained at a distance, while Moses approached the thick darkness where God was” (20:21).

That must have been terrifying.  I don’t know why God chose a dark cloud to bring His presence down on the mountain, but it sticks out to me.  Darkness usually has connotations of evil for me, particularly the thought of deeds done in the darkness and the one who is all darkness.  I may be off-base here, but it seems like there is darkness that plays host to evil or perhaps is a result of evil and darkness that is just an absence of light.

Moses walked straight into the dark cloud because He knew it was where God was.  Sometimes I don’t even walk straight into light-full places when I know God is there.

Moses, you’ve reminded me to go where God is.  Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

