Labeling Wednesday

Today.  Today is a stressful day.  On second thought, I feel bad labeling poor, little Wednesday as stress-inducing.  Does the stress define the day?  Does the knot in my stomach constitute labeling an entire day badly?

I’m going to hazard a guess at “no.”

Or, at least, I shouldn’t let it.  I must defend Wednesday against the anxious circumstances and bitter winds outside that threaten to give it a bad rap.

After all, Wednesday did include some good things, too.  It might take me a minute to come up with them, though.  Can I put you on hold?  We have nice hold music.

ba-da-da-daa-ba-da-da-da-da-du-da-da-da (That’s “Singing in the Rain” in case you couldn’t tell…)

All right, I’m ready to talk about the positives now.

1.  I got to chat with my mom on the phone, even though it was about the frustration.  She helps me to put things in perspective and remember to take things one at a time.

2.  I had opportunities to practice mature, calm graciousness and work to redeem a situation.

3.  I found out that I have people who are willing to go to bat for me and who do it quite well.

4.  The sun shone for a while, which made the bitter spring wind a bit more bearable.

5.  Tonight asks for little from me.  This is a beautiful thing.

Tomorrow is another day.  I feel like Scarlett O’Hara said something like that.  Thank you, Google; she did: “Tara! Home. I’ll go home. And I’ll think of some way to get him back. After all… tomorrow is another day.”

Not exactly my scenario, not even close.  But she’s right.  There’s a solution.  And there’s tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Labeling Wednesday

Leave a Reply

