Another post about food.

Today is one of those days where post ideas swarm around in my head and never actually settle down into one, cohesive idea.  There’s a little one buzzing around over there about actually making breakfast for once and another one over there about solitude.  And over there is silence, the idea that you can feel it.  And then there’s the one over there about Janelle (I don’t think you know her yet, but you WILL).  And that lil guy over there has my thoughts about why I clean when I’m home alone.

But somehow, one idea buzzes louder than the rest and forces itself to the forefront: write about me!!! write about me!!!

You guessed it: French bread.

Actually, you probably didn’t guess that.  If you know me well enough, you know that I cherish food and enjoy waxing eloquent about it.  So you may have known that something of this nature was coming.

I just had a hankering to make bread today.  I don’t really know where it came from.  Maybe I have some sort of subconscious desire for garlic butter, and French bread will give me a reason to make that.  Or maybe my body didn’t have enough carbs yesterday and wants more.

That’s a joke.  I ate at Italian restaurants for both lunch and dinner yesterday (please, please don’t judge me – I had good reason). I’ve had enough carbs for the whole week.  But hey, it’s spring break.  Tis the season to… eat?

The classic image of a girl and her bread maker.

I frequently think of the verse: “And he humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that he might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the Lord” from Deuteronomy (later quoted by Jesus in part when Satan was tempting Him) when I think about bread.  It comes from the passage talking about how God lead the Israelites out of Egypt, into the wilderness and how He let them hunger… then gave them manna.

He let them hunger.  Then gave them manna, so that they would know that their satisfaction doesn’t just come from bread.  The hunger they felt wasn’t a vengeful you don’t always obey so… FEEL HUNGER thing; it was a you won’t understand what it’s like to live with Me as your sustenance unless I’m all that you have thing.

“Know then in your heart that, as a man disciplines his son, the Lord your God disciplines you… For the Lord your God is bringing you into a good land… a land in which you will eat bread without scarcity, in which you will lack nothing… And you shall eat and be full, and you shall bless the Lord your God for the good land he has given you.” (Deuteronomy 8)

I get a lot of satisfaction from bread.  But every word that comes from the mouth of God?  Well, there’s the real satisfaction.  I love it when common things in life can take on a wholly different meaning (or, perhaps, holy different meaning) to remind me how to live.

Bread.  Now it’s a reminder that God is my sustenance.

Leave a Reply

