Dragging and fine lines.

This last week of school before spring break has just dragged on.  (picture that moment from Psych when Gus is dragging Shawn across the floor because Shawn went “boneless” on him… it’s okay if you don’t get it.  You probably get the idea.)  Not that it’s been a bad week, really, but it’s been a long one.  It’s a good thing that I sleep away 8 hours of my countdown per night.

I guess you could say I’m ready to be home.  But there are things that need to be done before I get there – actually, before I’m even allowed to start packing my dirty laundry into my suitcase (yes, I’m waiting til I get home to do it.  Saving five quarters.) and board the L to take the trek to Midway. And sometimes those things cause me just a tinge of anxiety.  Or maybe a lot of anxiety.

There’s such a fine line between peace and anxiety.  I know that probably sounds stupid since they’re sort of opposites.  At least for me, there’s a fine line between the two.

I’m pretty sure that I associate anxiety with caring about something.  When I care about being places on time I get anxious about whether or not I’ll get there right away.  So I leave fifteen minutes earlier than I need to and walk at my Olympic fast-walker pace.  If I consider something important, my immediate reaction is to get a cyclone in my stomach, because that means that I care.

I haven’t yet figured out how to not be anxious about something but to still place value on it.  I’m sure that’s a process, along with learning how to keep my living space neat (notice, I didn’t say “clean”… I’m fairly good at that).

Jesus says to not be anxious about anything but to give all my cares to Him.  That sounds like a good plan.  I’m pretty sure he doesn’t mean that I should be apathetic about life.  It’s not a don’t care about anything message.  It’s a don’t worry because I hold the things you care about and value them more than you do message.

And that’s the place where I need to be  Giving up my worries because I care about them and know that I can’t do anything for the situation by worrying about it.

Here’s to peace and knowing that you (and I ) have a capable God who wants our cares and anxieties.  Now, that’s a happy message for a Wednesday.

 

Leave a Reply

