Metaphors for life.

DSCN4926Tonight, as we ate a hot fudge sundae out of a seashell-shaped bowl at Margie’s Candies (actually not our original destination, but we missed our stop while I was giving someone directions to Navy Pier… ice cream was a good back-up plan), Liesel realized that our beautiful sundae was a great metaphor for our friendship.

I am the mint chocolate chip scoop.  She’s the coffee ice cream.  Those two flavors complement each other oddly well.  She doesn’t like whipped cream, and I’m not a huge fan of nuts on my ice cream.  So, naturally, we took care of those for each other.  In addition to that, all the things we have in common are like the hot fudge that is drizzled over the whole thing.

It was a beautiful picture.  And a tasty sundae.

As you may have noticed, I did a little bit of re-vamping on my blog this week.  The sidebar looks different.  There’s a tag cloud there now, where there used to be archives.  (I’m sure that doesn’t seem like a huge difference to you, but trust me, it’s big.)  Wordpress takes all the tags that I add to my posts, and they put the most-used ones on there.  I’m pretty proud to have “cupcakes” listed on there, as well as “juice of life.”

This is going to sound cheesy, but it’s really not cheesy or sappy: I want Jesus to always have the biggest tag in my tag cloud.  Is that a weird, blogger-oriented metaphor?

Sometimes, I make Jesus ride in the backseat.  Sometimes I even try to remind Him to put his seatbelt on.  And then I make Him duck when we drive past certain people who might not want to see Him.

That’s not where He belongs.  He belongs in the front seat, driving.  He’s the one who reminds me to put my seatbelt on, and He probably should be ashamed to be seen with me in public.  But He’s not.

So, as part of my efforts to keep Jesus in the front seat, He’ll also always be the biggest in my tag cloud.

Commence weekend with Jesus.

 

Leave a Reply

