What if day.

I’d like to share something ridiculous with you.  I have shampoo, conditioner, a bar of soap, deodorant, a toothbrush and toothpaste, a Tide to-go pen, gum (even though I can’t actually chew gum), an entire roll of toilet paper (for nose blowing), a dictionary, a sewing kit, a stapler, Altoids, and airplane peanuts, in addition to my textbooks and computer.

But I don’t have lip balm.  It’s the item that I use most throughout the day, but I don’t even have one in my backpack.

Sometimes, I don’t make sense, even to me.

I went back to my Chicago church this morning, a reunion that I had been looking forward to for quite some time now.  We had a long, cold walk to get there, but it was worth it.

The posture of worship is something that’s attractive to me.  It’s something about focusing my whole heart and my whole mind on the One who makes me complete.  I suppose that in those moments, I feel complete, which is probably why it’s attractive.  I crave the worship experience sometimes, wanting to immerse myself in praise of my Savior.

Today, though, I thought what if… what if my whole life was like this.  

And I think that’s the point of worship, that it’s supposed to consume our entire lives.  We’re supposed to catch the fire and let it burn everything we do to make it all about God.

I’m going to transcribe some videos this afternoon, and I’m going to make it worship.  It sounds a little bit weird and maybe new-agey, but it’s really not.  It’s Biblical to live a life that is all about God, a life that worships with every action – not just musical worship in a church building.

So, my whole life is going to become worship.  And I’m going to put lip balm in my backpack.  Productive Sunday.

Leave a Reply

