goodbye but hello.

I said “so long” and “get away from me, Satan” to dairy quite a bit in the past week.  It was a sad parting since I’m a big fan of most things with lactose, but the fact remained that my body kept telling me that it had had a falling out with dairy.

Fortunately, there are such reconcilers such as Lactaid.  I picked up a box last night, so that today I could gleefully search the refrigerator for all things lactose-laden.

I’ve been eating lots of cheese in celebration today, people.  It’s a beautiful thing, reconciliation.  Lactaid, the mediator – to the rescue!

I’m so thankful that God gave people the idea for Lactaid.  I’m so glad that they know why people get intolerant so that they can fix it.  I keep stopping my typing to take another bite of cheesy, dairy-filled foods.  The joy that comes from dairy consumption (for me, at least) is just so great.

Nothing compared with the joy of knowing Jesus, of course, but it’s a small joy in addition to that one.  Really, Lactaid gives another picture of what Jesus does for us.  Call me sacrilegious for comparing Jesus to a dietary enzyme, but isn’t it kind of what He does?  Fixing things and relationships and digestive systems where they are broken?

I was watching the live stream of the Passion 2013 conference this morning, and the speaker was talking about the passage in Ezekial where the dry bones come to life.  They get the tendons and the flesh and the skin, but they aren’t alive until God breathes on them.  It’s the same thing for Christians, that we can have all the right beliefs and actions and look right, but until we get God’s breath in us, we’re dead.

He made a lot of other good points, but my favorite part was when he said that our main message to the world around us isn’t, “You’re dead, and you need to come to life.”  It’s not that at all.  God has already said that.  No, our message to the world is this:

I was dead, but God brought me back to life.  Look at me; I’m alive now.”

Funny that he should talk about that, since the song that was running through my head as soon as I woke up today was this:

I rise as You are risen, declare Your rule and reign
My life confess Your lordship and glorify Your name

Your word it stands eternal, Your kingdom knows no end
Your praise goes on forever, and on and on again

No power can stand against You, no curse assault Your throne
No one can steal Your glory, for it is Yours alone

I stand to sing Your praises, I stand to testify
For I was dead in my sin

I just want to shout that.  So glad to be alive in Christ and eating dairy today.  Goodness, I have nothing to complain about.

Leave a Reply

