Mistaken identity.

Dear Pope Benedict XVI,

I was mistaken about you.

Actually, I just didn’t know anything about you.  I knew you were the head of the Catholic church, but since I’m slightly ignorant of all things Catholic, I didn’t know that you were actually serious about it.

That sounds pretty dumb now that I put it in writing.  I suppose all the years of learning about the corrupt popes of earlier times made me think that perhaps the position was one of a figurehead now.  I assumed that you would be the type of Christian leader who takes the popular stance on the hard issues and excuses immorality to avoid getting flack.

I’m happy to say that I was dead wrong.

Thank you for standing up for what the Bible teaches, for using your immense influence and power to speak truth.  Thanks for getting a twitter so that anyone can hear from you.

Screen Shot 2012-12-28 at 12.17.13 PM Screen Shot 2012-12-28 at 12.16.50 PM

Thanks for proving me wrong.  It’s nice to be surprised by character sometimes, since most people in the public eye don’t surprise us with anything good.

Happy New Year, Pontifex.

Leave a Reply

