welcome, Christmas.

Even though I think it hit 60 degrees today, I still ushered in the Christmas season by wearing my choir dress (made of the most uncomfortable and unattractive fabric, at least from up close.  apparently it looks all right from far away) and singing with about a bunch of other people, some in the same dress.

I’m feeling quite thankful for this weekend.

I had a realusion this weekend, which was good, even if it didn’t make the next three steps evident.

I got to have fellowship and information sharing with a group of some godly and wonderful people whom I love for two days.

I got to sleep in a nice bed on Friday night in a quiet neighborhood.

My parents fed me really, really well, from deep dish to thin crust to Mexican to Swedish.

imageThat, dear friends, is called thin crust.

I’ll go back to salad bar and sandwiches tomorrow.  Happily.

I’ve decided that I need to complain less.  It’s really quite overrated since it doesn’t do me any good or the people I’m around any good. Instead, I’m going to list positives, without being the annoying gloating person.  Maybe balance is the key, and honesty.  Maybe there’s a place for complaining, when it’s constructive or you just need to tell someone about your bad day.  Maybe when it’s counterbalanced with perspective.

Back to the moment where the Christmas season officially came to be.  PIcture yourself in a huge room.  The virgin Mary is in front, a statue of course, and there’s marble all around.

A choir of about 50 women, 25 men, and 30 children have been singing the first Noel, all alternating which group is singing.  The orchestra plays an interlude, then a key change comes.  The director moves her arms more wildly.  The volume grows.

And now they all sing in unison:

AND LET US ALL WITH ONE ACCORD SING PRAISES TO OUR HEAVENLY LORD, WHO HATH MADE HEAVEN AND EARTH OF NOUGHT, AND WITH HIS BLOOD, MANKIND HATH BOUGHT. NOEL! NOEL! NOEL! NOEL! BORN IS THE KING OF ISRAEL.

That’s the part where your heart swells and the chills come.  And you sing with all of your might.

And your heart’s refrain, along with the words of the song, is Welcome, Jesus.  Welcome, Christmastime.

Leave a Reply

