lobster quadrille and kisses

Let’s take another trip to this place:

When I was younger [elementary age, I believe], on a few occasions I pulled out our big children’s book of poetry.  It was a thick book with 12 or so themed chapters with tons of poems.  It had a green dust jacket that was a little bit tattered around the top and bottom of the spine, so I guess it must not have been a new book, but I don’t really know where it came from.  I’ll have to ask my mom when I go home (!!! 2 days!).

Anyways, there were poems from Ogden Nash, Edward Lear, Lewis Carroll, etc.  It was from that era where children’s literature is more instructive than child-friendly, as illustrated by poems like this one:

In the family drinking well,

Willie pushed his sister Nell.

She’s there yet because it kilt her.

Now we have to buy a filter.

Talk about gruesome and macabre.  The point of telling you about this book isn’t to recount gross poems though.  The point is that I know the Lobster Quadrille By Lewis Carroll by heart.  And I never memorized it.  Never.  I may have read it a few times, but all of a sudden, one day in middle school I realized that I knew the entire thing by heart.

I really didn’t ever memorize it.  And I don’t think I read it that much.  Just, all of a sudden, I knew it.  And still do know it.  It’s not even really a poem worth memorizing since it doesn’t have much meaning – particularly taken out of its context in Alice in Wonderland.

That’s one of the weird phenomenons that I’ve been thinking about today.

Also, I decided to change my Starbucks Tuesday/Thursday dates to be Beijo de Chocolat dates.  (And by date, I mean date with myself and Matilda the laptop and whatever homework I have left… don’t get excited)  Beijo is an award-winning, internationally known Brazilian chocolate shop down the street from my dorm.  They have superb coffee, tea, CHOCOLATE, and crêpes(on Saturday mornings).  I was reminded a little bit ago that I’m not really a fan of some of the things that Starbucks supports (not that I condemn Starbucks customers, but I’d rather buy coffee regularly somewhere else, I’ve decided), so I’m glad to have another option down the street.

Beijo is a little bit quieter, less populated, with (I think) better coffee and decor.

But the sizes of drinks are the best part.  I don’t order small, medium, or large.  I don’t order in tall, grande, or venti.  Nope.

I order in hugs, kisses, and love.

Not that I ask for coffee and they hug and kiss me instead (how awkward that would be….).  The sizes are abraco, beijo, and amor, Portuguese for hug, kiss, and love.

And I really just enjoy that.  A lot.  Another reason to love the place God has put me: good coffee.

 

Leave a Reply

