Dropping eaves.

I just overheard one of the funniest exchanges I’ve ever had the good fortune to hear in Starbucks.  I had just ordered a Skinny Vanilla Latte (never do that… when they say skinny they mean that they sucked all the flavor and goodness out of it… should’ve ordered the regular fat one) and heard the two students behind me order some pretty complicated drinks.  Special milk, no foam, specific number of flavor shots.

Here’s the exchange to the best of my memory:

Blondeish girl, study guide in hand: I need to study for my Bible test.  (insert little conversation I didn’t overhear here… just use your imagination) Okay so Moses is in the desert and he comes across something.  Do you know what it was?

Brunette with braid: A sheep?  A stick?

Blondie: (offering a helpful hint) It was burning.

Brunette: (in laughing, silly tone, with the air of how-could-anyone-ever-know-the-answer-to-that-difficult-question) I don’t know!

Blondie: It was a burning bush.  And God was in the burning bush.

Brunette: It was God?  That’s weird.  Like the Holy Spirit? It was burning?  (insert other comments to the same effect)

Blondie: Yes.  It was a bush and it was burning.  I already told you, God was in it.  Okay, so Moses takes off his sandals, right…..

I had a hard time keeping a straight face, so thankfully right after this eavesdropping session my drink was ready.

Speaking of famous Bible stories, I was reading one of them this morning: the story of the garden of Gethsemane, particularly the part where Peter draws a sword and cuts off the ear of the servant of the High Priest.

I would really love to know what happened to that servant after Jesus picked up his ear off of the ground and put it back on for him.  I don’t have any idea what really happened, but I feel like you can’t just have something like that happen to you and not be changed forever.

I mean, his ear was cut off.  Then a guy who was being accused of lying about being the Messiah and who would later be crucified and rumored to have risen from the dead picked up the ear and casually (at least the text doesn’t make a big deal out of it… the focus is on Jesus telling Peter to calm down) puts it back on.

The servant’s response to both actions – the cutting and the healing – isn’t recorded.  I always just pictured the servant standing there, deadpan and without moving as his ear is cut off and put back on.

But I bet his whole entire life changed after that moment.  I wonder if he remained the servant of the High Priest.  I wonder where he was when Jesus was being crucified.  I wonder if I’ll get to see him in Heaven.

Just something that struck me this morning.  And now, back to speech-writing.

Leave a Reply

