Homage to a month gone by.

Happy October, folks!

It seems like the weather in Chicago has finally settled into an autumnal rhythm.  It’s chilly and a little overcast, and the leaves are starting to change.  People started breaking out the Uggs and North Face jackets when it was 60 degrees, but now they’re coming out in earnest.  I, as a tough and proud Minnesotan, however, have been wearing my Jared Allen t-shirt today with my pink capri pants.

I refuse to give in to cold weather until I can’t stand it any more.

Since it is the first day of October, I want to dedicate this post to paying homage to September and the good things it brought:

1) Good new friends

2) Numerous adventures that included food

3) A 3-1 start to the Vikings season, giving me some hometown pride

4) letters, cards, care packages, and emails from wonderful people back home and from family

5) A whole jar of peanut butter.

And I don’t think this will be surprising, but God was good in September.  And August.  And July.  And I’m betting 100% of everything that He’ll still be good in October.  He was good last year, and He’ll be good next year.

I had one of those experiences in church yesterday where I felt like the pastor had been following me around all week reading my thoughts and hearing what I was telling Stephanie the night before.  That sermon was spot on what I needed to hear.  Spot. On. (whatever that means) I felt almost guilty, like sorry all you other churchgoers…  I’m sure this only applies to me.  (though I’m sure many of them felt the same way or at least could apply it)

I’ve been looking back at my pictures from last week, and I don’t see Pastor Al popping out in any of them.  Nope, I’m pretty sure he just listens to the Holy Spirit.

It was a good end to September.  It’s so hard to believe that I’ve been here for almost a month and a half… yet I feel in some ways that I’ve been here much longer since the process of applying and getting accepted and getting ready to come took so long.  It’s good to have arrived.

Welcome, October.

One thought on “Homage to a month gone by.

Leave a Reply

