Just one more cup of coffee and one less class.

There are those days when you just really need to rely on God’s grace.  For some reason, today is one of those days.  And now that I actually understand what it is, I can rely on it much better than before.

I’m back in the jazzy Starbucks, but they’re not playing jazz today.  They’re playing the Avett Brothers, if my ear does not deceive me.  And that’s quite alright with me.

Let’s talk about my new job.  I am now a proud Phonathon caller for my school. (NOT a telemarketer, as I was reminded last night at training)  If you’re an alum, I might just be calling you in the near future to ask you to donate.  I’ve been properly trained, so odds are, you’ll give.  And I have a fancy schmancy headset that makes me feel like I should break out dancing and singing “Bye Bye Bye”.  I will be working the phone lines from 6-9:30 every Monday and Thursday and every Sunday afternoon/early evening.

Now, those of you who know me well (or at least know that I go to bed at 10:30) might be seeing something funny about this situation: the end time.  It’s past nine.  Stephanie and Mel, the girls down the hall have joked that if I don’t get in bed by 11, the universe will fall out of alignment.  Don’t worry, folks.  I’ll still be getting in bed early.  Your universe will stay as aligned as it is now.  This setup will just force me to have a little more planning ahead, which I’m totally fine with.  I like planning ahead.

So when I can’t plan ahead, I’m a little bit more reliant on God.  Hence the need for grace.  There are some things you just can’t plan ahead in – and you probably shouldn’t.  So, the best thing to do is to take things one day at a time.

Hello, Tuesday.  It’s really nice to see you.  You’ve only brought me one class today, and that’s so sweet of you.  Plus there’s no work or choir tonight.  Then on Wednesday I have – oh, wait.  just Tuesday for now.

Actually, how about just the 9:00 hour on Tuesday.  Oh Jesus, grace, please.

Maybe I should just focus on the next fifteen minutes.  Likely all that will be required of me in those is to it and drink coffee.  Ah.  Living fifteen minutes at a time.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

