Not a shelf.

I’ll start with a note about what I’ve been eating today.  I ate a normal breakfast, but lunch consisted of apple pizza and apple pie.  And it wasn’t healthy at all.

But it was delicious.

 

And deep dish pizza is for dinner.  I’ll go back to eating like a rabbit tomorrow. (aka salad and salad sandwiches from the cafeteria)

I was thinking about shelving today.  It’s totally normal, because that’s one of the first things that I see when I wake up.  My shelving unit with all my post-it reminders.

It’s an ever-growing collection of things I want to remember.  It makes my life much less stressful, to at least know that I will remember these things.

Anyways, shelves.  This morning, I was telling Jesus about the things that I knew I needed to give over to Him, again.  Then I got this picture in my head of what I keep doing with the things that I worry about needlessly.

I treat Jesus like a shelf.  I put my problems and cares and worries and issues up there when I’ve had enough of them, when I think I’ve worried enough to actually do something.  Then, when I start feeling like I’ve left it there long enough, I take it back down.  And when it’s up there, I’m still looking at it all the time.

I’m pretty sure that Jesus doesn’t want to be a shelf, something that holds things when it’s convenient for me.  I’m pretty sure that Jesus wants to take the role of the God who holds my cares and shortcomings and takes care of things and replaces worry with peace and then throws my sins and such into the deepest pit ever.

I’m pretty sure that it’s not supposed to be convenient for me to give things up.  Not because Jesus makes things difficult for me, but because worry is clingy.  It’s like a barnacle or a parasite.  It’s rarely convenient to get rid of a parasite.  And I doubt that many of us would want to put it on our shelves, to take it back down and keep it with us.  Why would worry be any different?

Shelves are nice for post-it notes or for my graham crackers and peanut butter.  Not worry, anxiety, troubles, cares, etc.

 

One thought on “Not a shelf.

  1. Ashley, you are more like your Papa Mc than you ever realized. He used to be a worrier. I worked on him for years about this problem. I ask him if he prayed about the things he worried about. He said yes. I told him that he wasn’t believing that God could help him because he would pray and then reach back up and take his worries right back. He finally started trusting that if he just let God have the worries then he could turn them loose. When we pray we have to let God take care of the answers to our prayers in the way He wants to and in His time period. Keep working on this and you will finally conquer this problem in your life and then you will be able to truly let God take over all the things you worry about. “Worry is like a rocking chair. It will give you something to do, but it will not take you any where.” Love you…

Leave a Reply

