Something’s missing.

I have to say, that although I love college, there’s one thing that is missing. (besides the insect that I saw scurrying across my floor this morning – still don’t know where it is… it’s unnerving)

Children.  Babies.  Toddlers.  If you know me even remotely well, you know that children are one of my favorite things, that I have a baby radar.  Not that I want kids of my own right now, but there’s a reason that I picked a job where I get to be with the youngest in our population.

I miss those little ones.  I learn so much from them.  And they give me so many funny stories and blog topics.  It’s a tragedy to go so long without holding a baby or playing legos with a cute little someone.

Wanted: babies to hold for about half an hour.

I was thinking about something else today.  Typically, if you’re genuinely friendly to people, they’ll reciprocate.  Exhibit A: the people in the post office are seen as crabby, but if you’re nice and make jokes about how you’ve never seen such a clean dollar bill in your life (trust me, it was funny), they might just be nice back.  They might say, “Have a good day, hon” and send you on your way with your stamps.

Just thinking about that.  As I’m finding myself walking past so many people that I don’t know on a daily basis, I’m realizing that when someone smiles for real at me, I start doing the same for other people.  And it makes me happy.  And it might just make them happy.  And it cost $0.  And it wasn’t really painful at all.

Just thinking.

Oh, and by the way, this is post number 250.  Seemed like a significant thing to say.

One thought on “Something’s missing.

Leave a Reply

