Street philosophies

I’ve spent a lot of the past couple days exploring the streets of my new Chicago neighborhood.  And I’m developing my street philosophy – sort of by trial and error, mostly be common sense, and also from advice.

When my parents dropped me off at school, we came up with criteria for places I could go by myself.  A lot of stores in this area have posters all over the windows, so you can’t see inside.  That, dear friends, is on my “no” list.  If you can’t see in, then you can’t see me while I’m in there.

In Minnesota, when I saw police officers on the streets, I usually took it as a warning to myself, slow down, watch yourself.  I almost felt like the criminal.  Here, I feel safe when I see police cars or the campus security vehicles.  That’s right, somebody’s looking out for us.

But not all the time.

I’m trying to figure out just how friendly to be while walking around, because there won’t always be campus security tailing me.  So far, I’m thinking that I just need to find a friendly linebacker to take me to the bank, but I haven’t exactly made friends with one of those.  And, really, I don’t want to use people.  That’s just not even nice.

Reality: I’m a sort of bubbly and friendly person.

Another reality: people mistake friendly for rob-able and other bad things sometimes.  Not all the time, but sometimes.

Solution: Be polite always, but be friendly when you have a linebacker.

Thank Jesus that I’m not totally out on my own yet.

Leave a Reply

