Deaf, blind, and dead.

You called, and you shouted, broke through my deafness.  Now I’m breathing in, breathing out.  I’m alive again.  You shattered my darkness, washed away my blindness.  Now I’m breathing in, breathing out.  I’m alive again.

I was listening to that song by Matt Maher on the way to work this morning, and the intensity of those words really struck me.  It’s talking about how when Jesus calls us out of sin, using words like deaf, blind, and dead.  Not hard-of-hearing, visually impaired, or weak/debilitated.

Deaf.  Blind.  Dead.  Without the ability to hear, see, or even live.  Am I getting redundant yet???

13 When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, 14 having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. 15 And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.(2 Corinthians 2:13-15)

It’s yet another show of how desperate we are without Christ, how dire the situation is.  If I were simply hard of hearing, I wouldn’t need the major surgery to completely rebuild my ears.  I’d probably need a lesser surgery or a hearing aid.  If I was visually impaired (wait a sec, I AM!), I could just get glasses or contacts or both.  Or I could get LASIK.  If I was weak or debilitated, I would need medical attention too.

All of these issues require some assistance, but none of them require the most dramatic help ever.  Repairing deafness, blindness, and bringing the dead back to life.  Sure, medical professionals today can make some deaf people hear, and I’ve heard about the blind being able to see.  I’m sure in Jesus’ day that wasn’t the case though.  So those were some pretty powerful illustrations of how they could be made new spiritually.

But bringing the dead to life?  That’s the one that has the most power.  Not only because in order to bring us to life Jesus brought himself back to life, but because – if you don’t count people being dead for less than an hour – we can’t bring the dead back to life.  We couldn’t in 30 AD, and we still can’t now.

But Jesus can.  And He did.  And He does.   And I’m having a hard time getting over that right now.  The desperation of my situation without Him, and the incredible restoring power that brings the deaf ears to hear the voice of the Holy Spirit, that makes the blinded eyes see His glory, that makes the dead heart beat again to praise Him.

You could say I’m pretty glad to be alive today.

Leave a Reply

