Slipping through my fingers all the time.

Today I offered to babysit for someone, then realized I had probably better check my calendar.  So, I got Matilda and pulled up my calendar.

The highlighted day, the one that is supposed to be the day that you are living at the moment, was July 30th.  As in, almost done with July.  As in, one more day til the month of departures and significant change and upheaval arrives.  As in, I only have three weeks to finish my Purgewhich has had rather slow progress.

As in, this is the moment where I sit alone in my kitchen and say “oh my gosh.”  Then I say it again.  And again until all the words run together.  And it’s like that moment when you feel around in the bottom of the bag of pretzel M&M’s and realize that they all disappeared while you were eating them.  I lived every single day of summer – and most with at least a little purpose, some more than others.  All of a sudden, however, it’s July 30th.

So my steps forward are clear:

1) Check the date every day so that this kind of shock never happens again.

2) Make a list of things that must get accomplished in The Purge and other areas of life.

3) Make a list of things that would be nice to get accomplished.

4) Find a laundry hamper, preferably with three sorting spots.

5) Spend more time with Jesus each day to make good habits great habits.

6) Bake a cake.

7) Be as frugal as possible.  Except for certain times when splurging is necessary.

8) Try to see everyday as a gift, a present, like a gift card of time.  And don’t be too hesitant to use it – but then again, don’t waste it.

I have my path.  I think I’ve made lists like this before and promptly forgotten them, so I will actually stick to this one.  Wish me luck.

Happy 30th of July.  I hope it wasn’t a horrible shock to see the date today for you.

Leave a Reply

