Virtual circle of friends.

Sometimes you mix up protein powder and ice cream and fruit and cocoa powder in a very noisy blender and call it lunch.  Sometimes “Dynamite” by Taio Cruz (not a song usually on your list of favorites) comes up when iTunes is on shuffle, and you have a sudden urge to get up off the bed and get down.  Sometimes you get off work at 12:30 and it’s a good day.

aka Tuesday.

By my title, the most likely conclusion you would come to is that this post will be about how I have no real friends.  I mean, really, how would I have time to have friends with all the time I spend waxing eloquent about everything that comes to mind on here?

You would be wrong, thank the good Lord (really, thank you, Jesus).  I have a lovely circle of very real and tangible friends.  However, I have a list of people from books, movies, and musical groups that I think I would get along quite well with.  It’s not just that I appreciate their art or skills, but I think that their interests or personality would be one I would mesh well with.  My family was talking about this at dinner last night, who we would pick to be our friends.

Without further ado, let me introduce you.

 Meet Jon Foreman, frontman for Switchfoot, a part of the band Fiction Family, and individual recording artist.

Why we’d be friends: Well, as far as I’m concerned, we are friends.  I have every Switchfoot song that’s buyable, and when I listen to the live stuff, I laugh along with him.  I’ve been to two of their shows, and at each one I have become more convinced that I would really like to be friends with him.  Maybe it’s an obsession type thing.  Maybe it would be really weird.  I don’t know, but he’s in the circle.

 Meet Elizabeth Bennet, a fictitious protagonist of the novel Pride and Prejudice. 

Why we’d be friends: She’s witty, and I appreciate witty people.  Her family is ridiculous, and we’d have a lovely time making fun of them together.  Also, she likes walking and will someday be mistress of Pemberley, so I’m in for visiting her there.

 Next up, Hope from Hope was Here by Joan Bauer.  (by the way, great book if you’re needing a summer read.)

Why we’d be friends: Hope’s given name was Tulip.  If you can get over something like that and enjoy life, you’re probably a very down-to-earth person.  She also slings hash at a diner in Wisconsin, so I would be able to visit her easily.  In the book, she campaigns for an honest man in a town where corruption has taken over.  I like people who stand up for good, especially when the odds and the crowd are against them.

 If Owen Wilson is anything like his characters in Midnight in Paris and Marley and Me in real life, I would definitely like to be friends with him.

Why we’d be friends: He seems like such a genuinely nice and easygoing guy in both of those movies.  In Midnight in Paris, he takes joy in the simple things, which I think is so valuable. He was in Paris, and the things he appreciated most were 1) walking in the rain, 2) talking with great thinkers, 3) enjoying the beauty of the place.

This is just a start for the circle.  These pictures won’t be the ones I bring to college with me though.  They won’t be the people I try to get in touch with when I need someone to talk to, and they won’t be the ones I check up on to make sure they are doing well.  (Granted, since two of them are fictitious, I couldn’t anyways)  No, those people will be my real friends, many of whom read this blog.  Actually, if you’re here, you’re a friend.  Even if I don’t actually know you.  Welcome to the circle.

By the way, at the time of this post, only people from outside America have viewed my blog today.  It’s in international circle, people.

Leave a Reply

