Freud and the light.

I called 9-1-1 in my dream last night because there were two people who were dead and stuck in a pile of something that looked like mashed potatoes on the side of the road.  And for some reason, I was worried that I would be blamed for it.  And as I walked out of the restaurant after giving the police my testimony, I felt as though my friends on the deck outside were suspicious of me.  And that somehow the pile of blankets I was toting around with me were incriminating me.

The dream continued in another frame where I was nervously playing my guitar in church.  And my hands were sweaty and I guess I had left my strap at home because I was missing half of the chords.  People didn’t seem to care too much.

I think that’s what I get for eating before bed.  I wonder what Freud would say about that? Somehow, I feel like Freud didn’t dream like me, otherwise he never would have come up with his psychology.  I don’t think that dreams as strange as mine are even able to be scrutinized…  you just have to take them for what they are – weird.

Well, in case you’re wondering, there’s no reason why I should think that people are going to accuse me of murder.  I guess this dream goes along with that irrational fear that I actually am a terrorist without my knowledge and that airport security will find me out that I mentioned in this post.

This morning, my pastor had an exceptional sermon about Jesus’s statement that He is the light of the world. He talked about how it’s like when the Israelites had the pillar of fire to guide them while they were in the wilderness.  And for some reason, that clicked with me.

That makes sense.

Jesus is like that, a brilliant, bright light that illuminates the night and guides the way.  That pillar moved when the people needed to move on from one area and stopped where they should stay.  It gave light to their darkness and became shrouded by a cloud during the day to give them shade while they wandered in the desert.

Light is good.  I can think of few connotations with light that are bad: blinded by light (but if you’re Paul, that turns out well for you), or if you’re doing something shady that you don’t want to be seen, I suppose you wouldn’t like light much.  In my experience, light represents hope.  There’s a light at the end of the tunnel, a sparkle of light in your eyes, a lighthouse, etc.  It represents life, a way out of darkness, safe passage to a better place, energy…. and Jesus.  Light has a whole spectrum of color, not simply just one shade – but it’s still not darkness.  And there’s only one source of true light… the sun.  or should I say, the Son.

Light of the world, come shine in us forever.  City on this hill, shine bright.  All the world will know when we’re together.  People arise, tonight.

Leave a Reply

