Contain Yourself.

Yes, that is a bag from The Container Store.  Also known as the happiest place on earth and one of my destinations for today.  There’s a reason that they need to put that disclaimer on the bag: you could really go crazy in that place and end up with enough organization assistance (and fun extras that are just plain ingenious or über useful) to drain your life’s savings.

So, that’s the reason for the bag.

This displays pretty well what’s going to be going on today as I shop with my friend: She’ll be pushing the cart, and the guy in front shows what I’ll be doing.

It’s just that exciting.

Now, there’s a strange disconnect here, because as I sit in my room, my bedside table is covered in random junk (and not so random junk).  I can’t see an inch of my desk, so my laptop lives on the floor next to it.  My closet can’t close anymore because I just can’t fit stuff in there.

It’s ironic in many ways.

1) I haven’t done The Purge yet (aka, cleaning out my entire life, which I have planned on doing for a while as a first step towards going to college and preparing to move out).  So I don’t seem to have enough room for all these organizational miracles in my room.  Not to worry, folks.  I have the guest room to put all my purchases.  So kind for worrying though.

2) It doesn’t seem like I have any interest in being organized if you look at my room.

Now, I could give you the whole schpeal about how I grew up as a pack rat with an extreme dislike for cleaning up my space.  I could tell you about how I feel like since I spent so many years without organization of any practical kind, I’m too far behind to simply “clean up.”  I feel like I need to move out of my room and move back in again, which is basically what I’ve planned on doing this summer.

Or I could just tell you that I might feel like I’m in over my head and a little too unmotivated to get out.

Is that how people with drug addictions or alcoholism or something else like that feel?  Like there’s too much messy work involved in getting better?  That might be a stretch, but it makes me understand a little more.  I suppose if you felt like the effort involved in getting to where you wanted to be wasn’t simple or a one-day job, you might put it off or never start entirely.  It might seem like you just have to settle for what you’ve gotten yourself into.

I haven’t ever really thought of it that way before, that anyone could have a valid reason for staying in such a dark place.

It’s all about hope, I think.  If you have hope that things will change, you’re more motivated to take a step towards something different than what you’ve been experiencing. And that’s why Jesus is so important.

It all comes back to that, doesn’t it?  Jesus is vital.  Huh.

Leave a Reply

