Smelling good.

Let’s just picturing me running a race. It probably wouldn’t happen since I don’t really enjoy running most days, but let’s all picture it together.
I’m running a 400 yard thing. I don’t know what you call it, but it’s 400 yards. So, I start at the gunshot, run at a solid fast pace for the first 325 yards, then I realize that I only have 75 yards left, so I might as well walk.
How stupid would you think I was?
This is the picture I’m trying to keep in mind as I close the door on my high school years. It goes against all logic for me to do my best for the first 3 years and 8 months, then give up on the last 9 days, right? If anything, I should be buckling down, studying harder, being a better influence at school because I know that it’ll be over before I know it. And I never want to look back on these nine days and wish I could re-do them.
This is what I keep telling myself as I do flashcards and study calculus up the wazoo. This is why I can’t walk around with the air that I’m so ready to be out of here. This is why I need to spend more time with Jesus tomorrow morning.
Sometimes I think of myself as an article of clothing. At the beginning of the day, after I drink my coffee and spend time with my beloved savior, I smell great, like our incredible fabric softener. Then, after a few hours of school and people that sometimes wear on me, I start losing my fresh smells. I get some smears on me and the fresh scent isn’t spreading to the people around me my anymore. By the end of the day, not only do I not smell fresh, but I smell bad. I’m only fit to be put in a hamper alone. I go from being perfuming to polluting.
I need to stay fresh. I need to learn to keep refreshing my God aroma throughout the day so that I don’t get stinky. I need to rely on God to keep me smelling of Him.
Oh Jesus that I could smell like you tomorrow.

One thought on “Smelling good.

Leave a Reply

