A celebration of similarities: me & t-sweezy.

You knew it was coming if you know me.  Because if you know me, the probability that you have, at one point in our relationship, told me that I look like Taylor Swift is pretty much 100%.  It might have been how we met.  Or it might have been something you realized later on when someone else pointed it out.

We’ll do a side-by-side comparison pictorially.

So, maybe you can’t see the resemblance, but I have at least 500 testimonies from random people at retail stores, 80% of my friends, coaches and players at volleyball camp, my dentist’s office, babysitting employers, small children, family members, teachers, two little girls at Mall of America, my chiropractor, and my hair stylist to confirm the similarities.

The funny thing is that I feel bonded to her because of it.  If people ever say that they don’t like Taylor Swift, I feel personally insulted.  Then I have to remind myself that though I do like most of her music, I am not her.  And even though nearly every day (not an exaggeration.  really) someone begins this sentence, “has anyone ever told you…?” and I can easily complete it in my head, I am not the country songstress.  I know this because I look in my checking account and don’t see 6 digits.

Some of her more adoring fans have let me know that I am half an inch taller than her.  And that we have the same color eyes.  And when I lead worship during chapel on my guitar, they say, “It was like Taylor Swift came for chapel!”  This may be partly because I have a sparkly guitar strap.  The even more crazy fans tell me that I resemble her in my body language, my expressions, and the way I talk, which was definitely not intentional.  I just wanna know why they study that kind of thing… obsession, anyone?

Anyways, it happened.  And now I want to meet her and see what she thinks.  I want to look her in the eye and talk to her and see if I feel like we are identical twins separated at birth (which has been suggested to me.  then I remind them that I look remarkable like the rest of my family.)  I’m sure this will never happen, but it’s been fun to dream about.

In one of these scenarios, we stand and stare at each other for a few minutes, confused and a little shocked to see someone who looks so much like us right in front of us.  Then it just gets awkward because I know all about her (mostly because people like to tell me what is current in her life, assuming that since I resemble her I need to know what she’s doing.), but she knows nothing about me.  I’ve never actually met someone famous and gotten to talk to them for an extended period of time, so I have no idea what I would say.  Hi.  I look like you.  And we’re almost the same height.  And I bet lots of short people have gotten mad at you for wearing high heels and standing next to them, too.  I like sparkly dresses, too, but I don’t have any since I dunno where I would wear that.  High school isn’t really the right occasion.  I know a lot of your songs on guitar.  I feel strangely connected to you too.  Call me crazy, but I think we should be friends.  

Anyone wanna call Ellen and set up a meeting?

 

 

Leave a Reply

