The day of snow.

Awkward, holding a shovel picture….

Then, the shovel’s full!  And it stayed that way for a good hour.  It’s amazing that even with three people moving at (almost) full speed to clear my driveway of snow, it still took a long time.

Today is confirmation to me that miracles happen.  Not that I wasn’t already convinced, but I just keep thinking back to looking at the weather last night.  how it said that we might get three inches of snow.  And how we ended up getting like six.  And how the plows seemed to not be plowing (why do they ever drive with the plow parts up??  I will never understand that.).

The most beautiful words I heard this week were when my mother popped into my room around 5:40 and said, rather groggily, that I should turn off my alarm because school was closed.

But, back to shoveling, because I thought about some parallels to life during that long time of shoveling.  It was hard labor, since the snow wasn’t fluffy and light.  It was real snowman snow, the kind that packs together easily and weighs much, much more than the fluff.  I know that I will be sore tomorrow, despite all my attempts to lift with my legs instead of my back.  I’m hoping that it will result in some extra muscle too.

As I felt the pain of lifting 3,000 snowflakes at a time (doesn’t that sound impressive??), I inevitably thought back to the many, many hours of conditioning for volleyball.  As I kept picking up more and more snow, though my muscles protested, I realized what volleyball taught me.

1. When it hurts, keep going because that probably means that you’ll get good results.

2. If it doesn’t hurt, it’s probably not worth using the energy to do it.

3. You could quit now, but satisfaction only comes from completing a job, doing it wholeheartedly the whole way through.

I’m done with volleyball now (something that makes me sad, a little, even though I know that I’m not cut out for a life of sports involvement… also I have achilles issues.), but this is so applicable to senior year.  So. Dang. Applicable.  And probably ministry.  And likely relationships.

When I feel like quitting, that’s probably a sign that what I’m doing is important and worth while.  The results could be having a stronger friendship, an “A” in a difficult class, an extra scholarship, or just having someone recognize your hard work.  Not that I live for recognition, but when people notice something that you do well, it gives you a little extra motivation to keep on doing it well.

Maybe this pep talk is just for me.  I’m struggling with senioritis at the moment, trying to keep it from setting in.  We’ve got less than 90 days before graduation, and I want to make the most of them.  At the same time, I’m excited for where God is sending me next year.  And I also have two AP classes and a PSEO class to keep up in.  And I have relationships to build, to make sure that they won’t evaporate when we’re not seeing each other every day.  And I’ve got a sphere of influence that’s about to change, so I’d better make the influence good while I still have it.

Holy cow.  Pressure’s on.  That’s enough to re-start those stomachaches I used to get from stress.

*breathe in* *breathe out*  That’s all in God’s hands.  I just need to be obedient.  Just trust and obey.  Trust.  Obey.  Trust. Obey.

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

One thought on “The day of snow.

Leave a Reply

