The road to rapper.

Yes, you guessed it.  My new thing is going to be rapping.  And it’s all because I’ve finally realized my lifelong goal of owning a rhyming dictionary.  (Thank you, my dear friend, Kate, for this thoughtful birthday present.)

So, without further ado, for some poetry.

The day was long and drear

and filled with Shakespeare

and government and writing

not exactly nail-biting.

I wore my new red tights,

one of the highlights

and ate a cupcake

which wasn’t at all fake.

The lights at school are fluorescent,

and the moon is less than a crescent.

I’m praying for a snow day

hoping the administration won’t betray

my faith in them.

I think that’s enough rhyming for now, but boy was that fun.

Today, I’m contemplating sleepiness.  Sometimes I take naps on Sunday afternoons, since there’s something about a cloudy, cold Sunday afternoon that makes my bed very inviting.  This dreary Sunday afternoon was no exception to that, so I curled up, intending to wake up in about forty five minutes, and found myself struggling to open mis ojos about 2 hours later.

I have no idea how that happened.

Either way, when I tried to go to bed that night, there was a slight problem with summoning the sleepiness.  But today, in my calculus class, it wasn’t hard.  Also, when I was trying to read about loans and credit for personal finance, my eyes were just about to close.  What is this nonsense?

I am making a commitment right now to end the late bedtimes.  You may recall that I’ve done this before.  Well, I’m doing it again.  Tiredness makes me so inwardly focused that I miss God’s goodness to me and I miss opportunities to show it to others.  So, I’m not going to go to bed late tonight.  I’ve got a dentist appointment in the morning, and as you might remember from this post, I LOVE my dentist.  (for real.  no joke.)

Ashley, over and out.

2 thoughts on “The road to rapper.

Leave a Reply

