For certain.

I asked wordpress for blog topics, and it told me to make a list of things that I know to be absolutely certain.  Without any prior planning, I will attempt to do just that.

Here goes. My list.

  1. Jesus
  2. …………..
  3. ………………
  4. …………………
  5. …………………….
  6. ………………………..
  7. ……………………………
  8. ……………………………….
  9. ………………………………….
  10. …………………………………….

Well, that was more difficult than I thought.

I thought of things like “gravity makes things drop on the ground”, thinking that anything scientific would be certain.  But then I remembered the people who thought the earth was flat and that it was the center of the universe – things that have obviously been proven wrong.  And that just makes me trust science a little bit less.

Then I was thinking about other things I know are true – like the fact that I’m constantly hungry and the fact that Vicodin (among other things) makes me cry.  I know where I am right now – I’m sitting on my yoga ball at my computer desk.  But that’s not really very exciting.

The only thing that makes my list is Jesus, not that I didn’t consider the other things, but there’s always at least a little doubt in the back of my mind about the others – even the things I’m sure about, like where I’ll be next year or what color hair I’ll have.  Jesus is my only certainty, and really, if I’m certain about Him, the other doubts and questions are small.

I was going to compare having Jesus with buying an iPod and realizing that it came with all the chargers and music and apps and maintenance that I could ever need, but then I remembered that I definitely didn’t buy Jesus.  And I didn’t do anything to earn him either.  So ti’s more like seeing a box marked “FREE” at the end of someone’s driveway, then picking it up and discovering that everything you ever needed was in there.  But then, as you hop in your car and drive away, you see that the box isn’t gone from the place that you picked it up.  You have it, but the offer is still available to anyone else who drives by and chooses to take it.

That might be kind of a stretch, but it gets my point across.

Countdown to the arrival of the savior of the world: 7 days.

 

 

2 thoughts on “For certain.

  1. 2. Today is the first day of the rest of your life.
    3. Yesterday is gone, tomorrow is only a dream.
    4. Death is certain, life is uncertain.
    5 Judgement is certain.
    6. Friendships come and go.
    7. Jobs are not for ever.
    8. True friendship is for ever.
    Is this a few more you can use. These are a lot of my thoughts lately. I enjoy your musings. Love you..

Leave a Reply

