The Thanksgiving epic: an illustrated narrative.

Since I’m sure that everyone wants to hear about how I spend this day of gratitude, I’m not only going to post today – I’m going to keep a log of what I do ALL DAY.  Get excited.  When something exciting (or disastrous, or mundane, or funny) happens, I’m going to write about it immediately – time stamp and all.  And I’ll post at the end of the day!  LET THE ADVENTURE BEGIN.

11:10 AM.  

I came downstairs to re-fill my bottle of hair gel from the Mommy bottle in my mom’s bathroom – and I ended up blogging.  This is the life of an aspiring writer.  I’ve been up for three lovely hours filled with coffee, watching the parade with my mom, Awesome Abs, rollerblading, and getting distracted by WordPress.  It’s T-2 hours until Stella & Co come to eat the feast with us, and I still have to clean my bathroom.  As I sit on the yoga ball that serves as our desk chair, I wonder what my sister is doing in Philadelphia (cough cough, Brooke, this is your hint to text/call/let me know you’re still alive) for our first major holiday apart.

I never really realized this before, but the times I spend with Brooke are really definitive of my holidays.  I remember most the things that I do with her.  For example, our 4th of July song and dance performed for our parents complete with American flag waving and stepping up and down on our little stepstools, the 12 days of Christmas puppet show that Brooke wrote, made puppets for, directed, and graciously allowed me to sit in on, playing with our giant wooden “paper dolls” under the christmas tree, baking together, and a host of other strange activities that I don’t think I should post online.  I think I write on this thread quite a bit, but I love my sister quite a bit.  Life isn’t the same without her, but transitions are good – they help us realize that we have to be intentional about staying in touch.

My next task is to do what I came downstairs for, then shower, drink some water (no eating until 1pm), and clean my bathroom.  Then my parents and I will run around doing all the little things we forgot.  Stay tuned.

12 AM – T-1 hour.  The bathroom got cleaned.

armed with paper towels and windex

I believe in full-size images at all times. which is why you have this lovely pic of the mirror cleaning.

then, I got clean.

That’s all for now.  Next step: add makeup and deodorant.  Then, start playing jazzy music and put on some socks so that we’re all ready for company.

Did I mention that I’m so thankful to all of your who read my musings?  Even if you don’t read every post or subscribe, I still am amazed that people want to read this stuff.  :)

I love writing.  Over and out for now.

12:30 – my mom just requested “all trivets on deck!” which means the food is coming out.  We’re getting things rolling here.

our table is all set and ready to be laden with food and surrounded with 8 hungry people

That's Squanto. He squats by our incredibly tall - by comparison - Pilgrims.

food is all staying warm...

6:36pm

The fun really began at 1:30, when our friends arrived, bearing challah bread, Russian potato salad, meringue cake (I spelled it “merengue” the first time I wrote that), green beans, and this amazing cream/garlic combo spread.  Broccoli was quickly steamed, potatoes and butter were put into serving dishes, and bread was sliced up so that the feast could begin.

At our house, Thanksgiving is as much about the initial meal as it is about the leftovers, so though we definitely ate our fill, no one had to put on stretchier pants or skip dessert for lack of stomach capacity.

As a non-turkey eater, the mashed potatoes and other carbohydrate items hold a special place in my heart.  I was the proud potato peeler last night – of an entire bag of potatoes, thank-you-very-much – and the taste tester.

I put my Grandma-made apron on to complete that happy task.  Then I proceeded to inform my mother that they needed more butter.

Both of my parents are initially from the south, which is probably why we use about 8 sticks of butter in our thanksgiving feast.  Maybe more.  It’s hard to say.

As avid leftover consumers, immediately after we decided that we were full, leftovers were split up into tupperwares to be re-enjoyed over the next couple days.  The rest of the afternoon consisted of dessert consumption, catching up on each others’ lives a bit, Apples to Apples, and more conversation.

our table, complete with what little food would fit between the many plates...

All good things must come to an end, so after we hugged our goodbyes to our friends, we waved goodbye to Autumn as well and put up our Christmas lights.

And now, let the most wonderful time of the year commence – right after I eat some more mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie and reflect a little more about what I’m thankful for.

This year I’m most thankful for the little things that sound cliché, you know the ones I’m talking about.  They’re the cop outs for when you can’t remember what you’re actually thankful for and you have to say it right away.  umm, I’m just really, like.. I’m just super thankful for… umm, my friends. *sheepish smile* yeah, they’re just really awesome.  Then the next person goes, someone who’s actually thought about what they’re thankful for, and you wish you could sink into the floor.  You’re second place in the gratitude category.  But I really am thankful for my friends.  Certainly the fact that I will be away from them – and my family, and all the little comforts of home like having my own room and car – next year in college makes me more appreciative of them right now.  It’s said that you never know what you have until it’s gone, but I think it’s more until there’s a threat that it will be taken away.  That’s when I want to cling to those things at least.  Maybe I’m in the minority on that one.

Besides my friends, I am thankful for my parents.  I’m grateful that they sacrifice financially so that I can be in private school, that they have set such a great precedent as godly parents, that they have always supported me in EVERYTHING.  I can’t think of a time when they copped out of going to something I was participating in for lack of interest or desire to be there.

You already know that I’m thankful for Brooke, that part of my heart is gone when she’s away.

I particularly like heat.  I love ibuprofen.  Carbohydrates are a fabulous part of my life that I would miss greatly were they taken from me.  I’m thankful for Chloe, our iMac, since she helps me blog more easily than Larry did.

Beyond all that temporal stuff, I’m thankful for hope.  For the fact that my fate, my life is not my own. That I am not alone.  That I live for a purpose far greater than anything that humans come up with.  I cling to that more than anything – yet there is no threat of it being taken from me.  And that’s the best part.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

2 thoughts on “The Thanksgiving epic: an illustrated narrative.

  1. Pingback: The annual Thanksgiving extravaganza post. « Journey to Who I Want to Be

Leave a Reply

