protein diets, gluten-free, and serenity

Shoutout to my friend who reads my blog and is going on a protein diet.

She’s putting conscious effort into putting good food into her body so that she’ll have more energy.  Add to that the fact that my aunt who is visiting us (along with my 14-year-old cousin, Hannah) is intolerant to gluten, and I’m thinking about what I put into my body.  garbage in, garbage out, right?

Gluten-free cookies do not sound appetizing by any stretch of the imagination, but Brooke, Hannah, and I proved that idea wrong by making an absolutely delicious and gluten-free giant cookie to rival Toll House’s.  I keep hearing that the non-natural gluten isn’t good for you, along with a lot of other things that I tend to eat on a regular basis.

And, of course, as my train of thought chugs along, I’ve gone from thinking about what I put into my body to what I put into my mind.  Let’s face it, people don’t get salty by going along with the patterns of everyone else in this world.  We are transformed for a reason, to be different, salty, standing out in a world that “goes with the flow” and “doesn’t rock the boat.”

Well, let me tell you, some of these boats need rocking.

It’s story time again, which I’m sure you just love: Once upon a time, I had a serious addiction to Veronica Mara.  On one side it’s a quality detective show, on another, it contains a lot of elements that I don’t consider necessary.  But instead of deciding to pass on the show before I became numb to the questionable elements, I watched multiple episodes a day.  (granted, I was sick at the time that I started watching it, but not by the time the addiction became pronounced.)

It is rare that I feel severely convicted about something that isn’t directly listed in the Bible as a sin.  Let me clarify, I don’t often feel God saying specifically to me that what I am doing (something which is in the category of “non-existent in the Bible times”) is not a good activity for me and that He wants me to stop.

I know when it’s God telling me to say something, do something, or, in this case, give something up.  His message was clear: let it go.  You won’t miss it.  It’s not spiritually edifying, and I have better things for you.

Since then I have not watched a single episode, and by the grace of God, I don’t miss it or feel an emptiness in my life where it was.  (I know what you’re thinking: Ashley, it was a TV show about  high school girl who solved mysteries in her spare time successfully.  It’s not even realistic, why would you miss it? and you would be right.) But, in fact, there is something far better taking its place.

I have a blog.

And on this blog, I am able to record God’s faithfulness, His magnificent deeds, lessons I am learning about Him and the life He wants me to live, and some other random things that may or may not have relevancy.  I have an activity with purpose instead, and I can tell you that it fills my life far more than Veronica Mars ever did.

That is a very obvious conclusion, but I hold this truth to be self-evident: that God has to teach me obvious lessons because I have no insight or perspective or depth on my own.

I can honestly say that God has filled me with His presence and with a desire to know Him better and to know His will completely.  I believe this is because I was obedient and because there is one less distraction in my life.

Maybe you can relate.  Maybe you have those things that don’t fill you up, the activities that seem to be harmless but might be taking the time that you could be filling with God’s best for you.

Call me selfish, but I want God’s best for me.  I want the best thing He has to offer, and the beautiful, redemptive truth is that He offers it.

2 thoughts on “protein diets, gluten-free, and serenity

  1. Ashley, such beautiful and edifying thoughts on this subject. As a parent I’ve started talking to my kids about guarding their hearts and minds against things that are harmful, but I have never thought about or come at it from the perspective of how those things keep us from experiencing other things of genuine value… the things that please God and bring us blessings in the process.

    • Thank you, Lisa! With only so many hours in the day, it’s become apparent to me that I have to be picky about what I choose to fill them with. It’s amazing what God can do with an hour!

Leave a Reply

