Waiting for Patience to Come

I’m sitting here on my couch in my living room tapping my toes, looking around for something to do and staring at my phone, waiting for the reply that says that the wait is over.

It hasn’t come yet.  I expected it to be here by now, but it’s not here yet, so I’m developing patience.

It’s easy to be patient when waiting to see the dentist.  I’m not in a hurry to get in there since the sound and feeling of the hygienist scraping my teeth is almost more than I can bear.  It’s also easy to be patient when waiting for some big assignment to be due.

However, sitting at red lights, waiting for grades to be posted, anticipating the last day of school, waiting for the microwave to beep, and waiting for important text messages are not on the list of things that bring patience with them.

This must be character-building.

 

Leave a Reply

